Casper Mattress

Casper Mattress Reviews

4.4/5 (7,218)
Learn More >
Every mattress review on this page is submitted by a real Casper customer. In the interest of transparency, we never change reviews or use incentives to influence these reviews. Here you can compare how people of different ages, sleeping positions, and weights rate the mattress on support, sinkage, firmness, and comfort. All reviews are based on our multi-layer design.

OUR REVIEW POLICY

Every mattress review on this page is submitted by a real Casper customer. In the interest of transparency, we never change reviews or use incentives to influence these reviews. Here you can compare how people of different ages, sleeping positions, and weights rate the mattress on support, sinkage, firmness, and comfort. All reviews are based on our multi-layer design.

Sleep is improved, but....
Rondii Lynberg
Verified Casper Owner
Reno, Nevada
49 years old
Feb 09, 2017
Sleep is improved, but....

So the first thing my wife and I noticed is that we move less and don't hurt as much in the morning. Thumbs up for that. The mattress does have a steady and persistent outgassing, moldish smell. We're about to return it because we've tried everything to air out the mattress with no success.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Expected better
EDWARD H REED
Verified Casper Owner
Fair Oaks, California
73 years old
Feb 09, 2017
Expected better

I'm not happy, I expected a better sleeping bed but no difference between it and my old bed. Return it for a refund except too much of problem in doing so

6
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo
Fantastic Mattress
Heath Merkley
Verified Casper Owner
Joplin, Missouri
38 years old
Feb 09, 2017
Fantastic Mattress

I have tried several mattresses over the last ten years and I can say this is by far the best. I have a herniated disc in my back and it can be difficult to get comfortable at times. That has not been an issue at all with my Casper. Plus, you can't beat the price. I highly recommend a Casper mattress.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner plus a cat
So far, So good!
Heather
Verified Casper Owner
Acton, Ontario, Canada
58 years old
Feb 09, 2017
So far, So good!

Had a delivery issue with UPS, however, my support staff person, PETER, was absolutely fantastic!!! Cannot thank him enough, he is a terrific asset to Casper, he did the "fighting" with UPS to get the delivery issues resolved, and the last piece arrived as promised; the mattress is much smaller than I anticipated. My previous bed was more than $4,000.00, and stood about 45" tall with the 18" mattress, box spring, and frame; the Casper bed+foundation+frame is about 24" off the floor, so a huge difference within the room; however, It is far easier for our aging pup to get up onto the bed. The foundation system was so utterly simple... warning though... you do not need to take apart existing frame/headboard first, the Casper foundation fits right into the existing frame, silly me! The mattress had some off-gassing, smelled like vinegar to me, but was only short term. The first night's sleep was not as successful as I had hoped, but, time will tell. Once again, I cannot say enough good/positive things about the support staff, absolutely incredible

4
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo plus a dog
Good
NSW
Verified Casper Owner
Plainsboro , New Jersey
55 years old
Feb 09, 2017
Good

The unboxing of the bed was fine. I would recommend the viewing of the process on YouTube...sets proper expectations. The bed is comfortable & a great value for the price. I purchased the Casper for my vacation home. I have a tempurpedic at my primary residence (which I love) but decided to go with the Casper because of the price.. I would prefer the bed be slightly harder but I do find it very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Good deal!
Jim Murphy
Verified Casper Owner
Richmond, New Hampshire
65 years old
Feb 09, 2017
Good deal!

I bought the mattress and the recommended foundation ~ both good decisions. Former mattress was a Tempurpedic. Liked it, but cold in the winter and very firm. The Casper was easy to get upstairs (Yay), delivery was prompt and efficient, and the bed is comfortable. It is a bit softer than I was expecting and certainly softer than the Tempupedic. I am getting used to it and do enjoy a good night's sleep. In short ~ no complaints!

6
hours of sleep per night
The Best Ever
Terry
Verified Casper Owner
Mokena, Illinois
59 years old
Feb 09, 2017
The Best Ever

I just got a new bedroom set and ordered the Casper Queen size. The furniture installers opened the box and placed the mattress on the bed for me since I had back surgery almost 2 years ago. I watched a video comparing a Casper to TuftandNeedle. While basically the ratings were somewhat even and the TuftandNeedle was cheaper, the quality of the mattress covering was evident. I figured if the outside was cheezy, then what was the inside like. And over the lifetime of the mattress, a couple of bucks per month was not worth horrible sleep. I slept last night on my new Casper for the first time and slept the sleep of the dead. Other than a nature call, I was out. There was no chemical smell like I have heard others mention and the mattress went to full size quickly after opening it. It did seem a little warmer towards waking up, but that may also be a med I am taking since I did sweat some using a conventional method. And with the 100 night return policy, what have I got to lose?

6
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo
Great mattress for the price
Joseph
Verified Casper Owner
Los Angeles, California
49 years old
Feb 08, 2017
Great mattress for the price

Unboxing was easy. Only major drawback for me was the smell for three or four days after unpacking the bed. The odor was strong enough near the mattress for me to have to leave the room. I uncovered the bed entirely and left the window open a bit for three days before leaving for work. The smell didn't bother my wife at all and finally dissipated. Aside from that, the mattress has be great. I actually have been able to sleep in bed without putting my arm under my my pillow to prop up my head. I think the mattress gives just enough to let my opposite shoulder sink into the mattress, yet it maintains a pretty good firmness. I thought It'd be nice to have a little more firmness, but actually, I'm getting use to this comfort level and it feels really good. Both my wife and I, and our girls ( who like to sleep in our bed) have been really comfortable for about six months now since buying this bed. If you're unsure, just try it! They'll refund you money if you're not happy. That's what we did. So far, so good.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Wonderful and very comfortable
Cathy Henry
Verified Casper Owner
Bowie, Maryland
63 years old
Feb 08, 2017
Wonderful and very comfortable

Better than a regular mattress . Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Superior to Helix
Jacquelynne Bernstein
Verified Casper Owner
Portland, Oregon
26 years old
Feb 08, 2017
Superior to Helix

Casper just LOOKS better than the Helix from the get-go. It appears to be more conforming, soft, cool, and high quality, and that's how I feel about it having slept on it for over a month. It doesn't have the hugging and sinking effect I would have liked or have seen with Sleep Numbers I can't afford, but I'm also lighter on the weight spectrum and a light sleeper. I like it more as time goes on, and undoubtedly more so than the Helix, which I tried for about three months and found to be too "resistant" feeling with far to much transferred movement. I could not stand to sleep on it with my cats at the other end and less so when my boyfriend moved in and began sharing the bed. Overall, I'm happy that I didn't settle and that I gave Casper a try.

6
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner plus a cat
Overall Casper Experience
Daniel Bartel
Verified Casper Owner
Chicago, Illinois
37 years old
Feb 07, 2017
Overall Casper Experience

I bought a Casper mattress. It wasn't right for me. I'd still recommend them to anyone looking for a new mattress. The customer service experience with Casper is just about perfect. The online order was easy. There was thorough email communication. When I decided it wasn't right returning it was simple, too. I made a call, they setup a pickup, and when it was picked up from my house by a local charity my money was refunded. The person on the phone was polite and not pushy. Great email communication during the return process, too. Why did I return it? I liked the way the mattress felt but my shoulder didn't. As a side/stomach sleeper my arm kept falling asleep. When I bought my mattress I also bought my dog a new Casper dog bed. He loves it more than the other two beds he's had, one from LL Bean and one from a pet store. Thanks Casper for genuinely caring not only about selling your product but taking care of the consumer. Proper customer service doesn't seem like the norm these days but I truly appreciate companies that make it a priority.

6
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Wonderful!!!!!
Johnny and Julie Jones
Verified Casper Owner
Texarkana, Texas
46 years old
Feb 07, 2017
Wonderful!!!!!

The Casper mattress was in our Motorhome when we purchased it and originally i thought it was going to be to firm, but boy was i WRONG. I sleep better on this mattress than any other mattress I've ever owned. We are currently working toward getting another Casper for our home bedroom. Partners movements aren't noticeable on my side of the bed and no problems with a saggy mattress. Thank You Casper!!!

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Great for back-sleeper but debilitating back pain for Side-sleeper
E & B & S
Verified Casper Owner
Whitby
40 years old
Feb 07, 2017
Great for back-sleeper but debilitating back pain for Side-sleeper

My husband (back sleeper) loves it and usually starts to snore within 30 seconds of saying good night. I (side sleeper) developed horrible debilitating back pain that I did not realize was due to the Casper until I was unable to climb up the stairs and had to sleep on the old mattress that we left downstairs. My back pain went away after a few nights on my old bed. My husband then moved downstairs with me (less snoring). Waiting for the mattress to be picked up now...

6
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner plus a dog
Convenient but very uncomfortable
Nora Marantz
Verified Casper Owner
Arlington , Massachusetts
35 years old
Feb 07, 2017
Convenient but very uncomfortable

The shipping and delivery was convenient but it is incredibly uncomfortable. I could not stay asleep and I now have sharp pains in my back and generally aches. I will be returning.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Love My Casper
Mariana
Verified Casper Owner
Florida
43 years old
Feb 07, 2017
Love My Casper

This is one of those reviews that I am actually excited to write. My whole experience with Casper Mattress has been amazing. Everything they promised is true. From customer service to the best sleep ever. I am so glad I purchased a mattress. I no longer wake up in the middle of the night or feel body aches while sleeping.

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo
Best sleep ever!
Priscilla Larsen
Verified Casper Owner
Santa Barbara, California
49 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Best sleep ever!

I originally purchased this Casper twin for my daughter. Moved her up to a double and I snagged the Casper. I can honestly say after 15 expensive types of mattresses... 2 marriages... etc, this twin Casper I have on top of an old twin mattress on the floor is the most comfortable bed I have ever had!!! My 2 beagles, and 2 cats all fit with myself... and all sleep ALL NIGHT LONG!!! Thank you Casper! You're amazing and I will never purchase another brand.. EVER!

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo plus a dog
Best mattress I've ever had
Angie Q
Verified Casper Owner
Seattle, Washington
31 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Best mattress I've ever had

We replaced our bed three years ago with a new coil mattress and have slept poorly since. It wasn't the right bed for us, and we always came back from trips saying we slept so much better in hotels. I agonized over buying a new bed and finally decided to order a Casper after reading the 2017 Consumer Reports for beds. On unboxing: it was fun! It's impressive that it fits in a cardboard box, but be aware that it still weighs a lot. You'd have trouble wrestling the king bed up a set of stairs by yourself. On upgrading to a king: I'll never go back. I am (was) a restless sleeper and kept my husband up at night with kicking and space hogging. He barely notices me with the extra space, and the memory foam keeps me from moving so much. On the bed: I've always liked a firm bed and at first thought this was too soft. Just like the pillows, the top layer is super soft while the inside is super supportive. My back feels so much better and I'm way more rested when I get up because I actually slept instead of tossing around all night. Overall, I'm thrilled with this purchase. I went from loving staying in a hotel for the comfy bed to hating hotels because my bed is so much better. The only downside I can come up with is that it has a bit of a smell when you first open it, but ours went away in about a week and it never bothered me much anyway.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Completely impressed with this company from start to finish!
Lisa & Ryan
Verified Casper Owner
New Castle, Colorado
33 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Completely impressed with this company from start to finish!

This was the best experience from purchasing, financing, unboxing and now FINALLY SLEEPING!! I was blown away at how easy this purchase was. Affirm is amazing and gives me reminders about my payments. The box was really cool to unpack, my kids loved watching the mattress expand. Finally we are sleeping well. We had an old Tempurpedic mattress. My husband and I were both having night time headaches, body pain and generally just not sleeping well. This mattress is not a completely different feel right away but after one night of sleeping on it we could both feel the difference. No shoulder or back pain and woke up realizing we had actually slept. To me, it's not something I needed to notice awake but after I slept for the whole night I then could feel the difference!

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner plus a cat
Best blind purchase I have ever made
Derek
Verified Casper Owner
Feb 06, 2017
Best blind purchase I have ever made

The unboxing was as simple as can be. I assumed there would be a latex smell for a few days, but that wasn't the case. The smell dissipated quickly and it wasn't really strong to begin with. I was skeptical about buying a mattress without trying it first, but the return policy eased those concerns. After 2-3 of months of using the mattress, I can legitimately say with no hyperbole - this is the best blind purchase I have ever made and the best mattress I've owned. The mattress is the perfect combination of firm, yet soft. I like softer, but my girlfriend prefers firmer. Somehow, we both love the mattress equally. She even said it is very, very comparable to the $3,000 memory foam mattress she had a few years ago. My biggest concern was being too hot because I am very hot-natured. I haven't woken up hot or sweaty once. For real - if you're even half-considering this thing, bite the bullet and get it.

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo
Not for me :(
Pauline Wheeler
Verified Casper Owner
Millinocket, Maine
44 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Not for me :(

The unveiling was cool! I found the mattress to be plenty firm which is what I needed but I just think foam is not for me. It didn't seem to help any of my back pain. I was very happy with customer service from beginning to end and think if foam works for you it's a great mattress.

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Beyond what I expected
Mike Normoyle
Verified Casper Owner
Browntown, Virginia
61 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Beyond what I expected

I was not 100% convinced that a mattress that came in a box would be able to help me relax and sleep better. I took a risk on Casper because of the Consumer Reports article. The cost was reasonable and with a 100 night guarantee I figured I could not lose anything. Removing the mattress from the box was not hard. But when I laid on it for the first night I was surprised. I slept through the entire night and did not toss or turn at all. I have not slept that way in years. Each night the mattress has become more comfortable and I am pleased with it. I use an adjustable base and it works very well with the mattress. Casper has really done an excellent job in the research and manufacturing. The only thing I am not sure of is the Casper pillow that I decided to try. I had been using My Pillow and so far the Casper pillow is ok but still not 100% sure if I will keep it. This mattress is well worth the effort to try. I am so pleased to get a better nights sleep. Now if they could make a bed that I can take with me on trips then all would be great!

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner plus a dog
Great mattress!
Janet
Verified Casper Owner
La Crescenta, California
35 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Great mattress!

Sleeping on the Casper mattress has been a great experience. My back doesn't hurt and I'm well rested. After the first night, I was hooked. I would definitely recommend the Casper mattress to friends and family!

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps solo
Good Mattress
Brenda Haskin
Verified Casper Owner
Clermont, Florida
53 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Good Mattress

I was totally surprised when my king size mattress came in a 4 ft. tall by 20" square box! It was super easy to unpack, and there was no wait time to sleep in it. It took a few days for my body to get used to this new mattress. It is a bit firmer than the one I had, but I knew I needed a firmer mattress. My old one was too soft and getting older. After a few days, by body adjusted to the firmer foam in this mattress, and now I love it! My body does not ache like it did before. Yay!!

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
Perfect amount of softness and firmness for both of us
Theresa
Verified Casper Owner
Martinez, California
54 years old
Feb 06, 2017
Perfect amount of softness and firmness for both of us

My husband and I did not want to go to the local mattress stores and lie on a bunch of mattresses trying to figure out the best one for us. First of all, icky - how many people have laid on these? Second, who wants to be stalked by the workers there (I know they are there to help but we always feel there is a hidden agenda for them...as in $$ commission). So we were both okay trying one online and the Casper mattress had so many great reviews, in addition to Consumer Reports ranking them the top of the memory foam mattresses. We absolutely love the firmness, but still a luxurious bit of softness. I feel like Goldilocks...this mattress is just right for both of us - it's been 2 weeks but it's looking like we are definitely very pleased with it. I actually look forward to going to bed!! Thanks Casper!

7
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner
So far, so good.
Jenn
Verified Casper Owner
Surrey
32 years old
Feb 06, 2017
So far, so good.

Unboxing was fun. We've been sleeping on it for just over a month now, and so far, it seems pretty good.

8
hours of sleep per night
Sleeps with a partner

Questions? We're on call

Visit our help page to call, email, chat, or text us.

Get in Touch

SHOP THE MATTRESS

Try the Casper Mattress at home for 100 nights, risk free.

See the Mattress